My Homepage

Entries open for Australian Interior Design Awards 2016

Co-presented by the Design Institute of Australia and Artichoke magazine, the Australian Interior Design Awards celebrate the best design projects produced by Australias leading architects anddesigners.

Each year, the Australian Interior Design Awards recognises the innovative thinking, skilful practice and truly innovative solutions devised by Australias architects and designers, says event manager Jacinta Reedy. The Awards make an important contribution to the industry by acknowledging the outstanding work of both emerging designers and establishedpractices.

Architects and designers are invited to register online now at

Entries can be submitted online until Friday 19 February2016.

The Awards categories recognise the breadth of output in Australias design sector. Alongside Retail and Hospitality, Residential Design and Decoration categories, the Awards also invite entries in Workplace Design, Public Design and Installation Design. There is a dedicated award for the best Emerging Interior Design Practice, as well as Best of State awards, an award for Sustainability Advancement and the new award for Interior DesignImpact.

The program has established itself as a very real indicator of what is happening in Australias design scene. A rigorous judging process and participation by leading practices in each discipline contribute to the Awards authenticity, adds MsReedy.

This years winners will be announced at a special gala presentation at Sydneys Sofitel Wentworth on Friday 10 June2016.

Experienced practitioners from across the interior design sector will judge this years entries. In 2016, there will be two jury streams, with Stream A comprising Sonda Banney, Architectus (Qld); Mardi Doherty, Doherty Design Studio (Vic); Matt Gibson, Matt Gibson Architecture + Design (Vic); Robyn Lindsey, Geyer (Vic); Alison Page, Alison Page Design (NSW); Phillip Rossington, BVN (NSW); Nick Travers, Techn Architecture + Interior Design (Vic); and Dimmity Walker, Space Agency (WA). Stream B will comprise Geraldine Maher, Jackson Interiors (Vic); Richard Johnson, Johnson Pilton Walker (NSW); and Rosemary Kirkby, Rosemary Kirkby Associates (NSW). John Gersakis, InfoActiv (Vic), is the Sustainability Advisor, and Joanne Cys, Associate Professor in Interior Architecture at the University of South Australia, is the JuryConvenor.

The Australian Interior Design Awards are supported by some of Australias most well-known suppliers, including Forbo Flooring Systems, Dulux, Business Interiors by Staples, Laminex, Smeg, Space, Bespoke andShape.


Entries open 9 November2015

Entries close 19 February2016

Shortlist published online Friday 24 March2016

Winners announced Friday 10June

Winner published online Tuesday 14June

To register online, go